Matt Morgan brings together community, state leaders on Campaign Advisory Committee in the race for Michigan’s 1st Congressional District

A host of community leaders and government officials have joined a Campaign Advisory Committee for Matt Morgan, Democratic candidate for Michigan’s 1st District, U.S. Congress.

The newly formed committee currently boasts 16 members and is chaired by David Anthony, former State Representative from Michigan’s 109th district. Made up of leaders from both the Upper and Lower Peninsula, it encompasses a diverse group of supporters who are endorsing Morgan in the 2018 Congressional race against freshman Representative Jack Bergman.

“The U.P. and Northern Michigan deserve to have a leader like Matt Morgan who will fight every day for better paying jobs, protecting our Social Security benefits and bringing tax fairness for working families and small businesses,” said committee member Scott Dianda, current State Representative for Michigan’s 110th House District. “I am confident Matt will work tirelessly for all of us, just as he did by protecting our country’s freedoms as a Marine.”

Morgan spent 20-plus years as a career Marine, including two tours in Iraq, counterterrorism work on the Horn of Africa, and senior staff positions at both the Pentagon and Marine Forces Command. He now lives in Traverse City with his wife (an Upper Peninsula native) and two young sons.

Committee member Jerry Cannon, a retired Major General in the Army National Guard and former Kalkaska Sheriff, said he  believes Morgan is the right person for the job.

“From my time as a young Marine in Vietnam to multiple deployments to Iraq, I’ve had the privilege of serving with great Americans who live the value of selfless service every day,” Cannon said. “As a fellow Marine and career Army officer, I know that Matt Morgan is a leader who will represent the best interests of Northern Michigan and the U.P. in Congress.”

The Campaign Advisory Committee also includes:

Mike Thibault, president, U.P. Regional Labor Federation and business representative for Michigan Building and Construction Trades Council, U.P.;

Mike Coyne, former Marquette County Commissioner and former Mayor of Marquette;

Rich Vander Veen, president, Mackinaw Power; Sharon Gray, CPA and small business owner;

Jenn Hill, Marquette community advocate;

Conner Raak, president, Northern Michigan University Dems;

Jim Carruthers, Mayor of Traverse City;

Abby Dart, DNC Platform Committee & Bernie for President;

Kate Marshall, Petoskey City Council;

Michael Delp, American writer and poet;

Leah Bagdon-McCallum, Traverse City community Leader

Jenn Cameron, Traverse City community leader and human rights activist.

Anthony, the committee chair, said he has been speaking to other prospective members and expects to add several more in the coming months.